Pulsations: Musical Relay of the Games

Make Music Day

In a partnership between the Paris 2024 Cultural Olympiad, the Arab World Institute, and the Make Music Alliance, artists around the world will unite their music, and their hearts, through a musical relay on June 21 for Make Music Day.

Starting in New Zealand and traveling throughout Asia, Africa, the Americas, and Europe, this 100% live online broadcast, entitled Pulsations (meaning “heartbeats” in French), will feature musicians in 24 countries performing free public concerts. Taking turns on the broadcast, each band will perform a 10-minute set, ending their last song with a “heartbeat” rhythm composed by renowned French-Lebanese trumpeter Ibrahim Maalouf. At that moment, like the passing of the Olympic torch, the band in the next country will join the livestream, match the heartbeat rhythm, and seamlessly begin their own set.

After four hours of diverse music joined by a common rhythm, the livestream arrives at the Arab World Institute in Paris, where Ibrahim Maalouf & The Trumpets of Michel-Ange will perform a final, hour-long set.

Pulsations Livestream Schedule

Friday, June 21, 2024
3:00PM – 7:00PM (Paris time)

First Hour: New Zealand, South Korea, Japan, China, India, Ukraine
Second Hour: Turkey, Ireland, Greece, Kenya, South Africa, Nigeria
Third Hour: Ghana, Brazil, Mexico, United States, Canada, United Kingdom
Fourth Hour: Italy, Cyprus, Portugal, Czech Republic, Germany, France

The full program will be streamed live on the homepage of makemusicday.org.

It will also be projected on large public screens in participating cities.

Support for Pulsations comes from Harman, the global leader in pro audio, whose AKG microphones will be provided to artists around the world to use in the livestream. Additional support comes from the Cheswatyr Foundation. In France, media partners include FIP (Radio France), France Médias Monde, and Konbini.

First Hour – 15:00 in Paris

07:00 in Mexico | 09:00 in New York | 14:00 in Nigeria | 18:30 in India | 22:00 in Japan

New Zealand

Auckland
UNESCO City of Music

TOI

TOI has a penchant for soulful R&B, with a funk twist. The Wellington collective has a hard-earned reputation as one of the tightest bands on Aotearoa’s live scene – travelling the country performing headlining shows, tours and festivals. In the lead up to the 2024 Paris Olympics, TOI collaborated with the New Zealand Olympic Team to create the soulful and uplifting anthem ‘Ain’t Just Dreaming’, featuring Olympians Max Brown and Ellesse Andrews. The song went to #1 on the Hot NZ Singles Chart, and will be played at NZ Team functions in Paris during the Olympic Games.  

South Korea

Seoul
Justin Lovett Studio

Love X Stereo

Launched in 2011 by former skate punk rocker Toby Hwang and fugitive astrophysicist Annie Ko, Love X Stereo is a dazzling Seoul electro rock duo whose dreamy kaleidoscope of stellar synthpop anthems have enraptured music festival audiences across Asia, Europe, and North America. With the epic release of their double EP series ‘We Love We Leave’ in 2016, Love X Stereo headlined at SXSW’s perennially packed ‘K-Pop Night Out’ showcase, and nabbed a best electronic dance album of the year nomination at the 2017 Korean Music Awards.

Japan

Kobe
Sakura Studio

Miki Kusumoto (soprano), Masaki Yoshida (baritone), and Shiyo Matsuura (piano)

After vocal music studies at Kyoto City University of Arts, soprano Miki Kusumoto began studying abroad in Germany in 2006. In 2012, she completed her studies at the Vocal Music Education Department of the Franz Liszt University of Music in Weimar. During her time in Germany, she sang as a soloist in various concerts, and in the Weimar State Opera chorus. She is currently a member of the Japan Federation of Musicians and a part-time lecturer at Osaka Shin-ai Gakuin University.

China

Hong Kong
The Wanch

Jazz Lambaux

Jazz Lambaux is a composer and performer based in Paris, France; on June 21 he will be on tour and performing for “Make Music Hong Kong.” Refusing to choose between instrumental composition and pop music, he collaborates with breton piper Enora Morice and melts the bagpipes with heavily computer-processed sounds and vocals. His first album will be released in June 2024.

India

Chennai
KM Music Conservatory

AR Rahman

Composer, singer-songwriter, music producer, musician, multi-instrumentalist and philanthropist A.R. Rahman is a luminary in the world of music. Celebrated globally for his profound artistry and innovative compositions, Rahman has won two Academy Awards, two Grammy Awards, a BAFTA, a Golden Globe, and numerous awards across Asia. His work spans across film scores, Westend and Broadway music, concert performances, and humanitarian projects, each marked by his signature blend of Eastern classical music with electronic music sounds, world music genres, and traditional orchestral arrangements.

Ukraine

Lviv
Pidnebesna Tearoom

Pyrih i Batih

Maryan Pyrozhok (Pyrih), together with his fellow musicians (Batih), presents the musical and poetic project “Pyrih and Batih”. The goal of this project is to raise the Ukrainian poetic layer to the next level, socially canonizing poets and popularizing the Ukrainian language through various musical genres. Pyrih also interprets Ukrainian translations of folk songs from around the world, in particular the Icelandic saga “Song of Asbern”.

Second Hour – 16:00 in Paris

08:00 in Mexico | 10:00 in New York | 15:00 in Nigeria | 19:30 in India | 23:00 in Japan

Turkey

Istanbul
Kadıköy Kitapçısı

Ahmet Beyler

Turkish indie folk rock band Ahmet Beyler has played hundreds of concerts on Turkey’s biggest stages, including Babylon and the Zeytinli Rock Festival. They have won the Jack Daniel’s rock composition contest, had songs used in movie soundtracks and plays, and have had #1 hits on the indie rock charts. There were also chosen on the “100 years of Turkish band history” wiki page as one of the most influential bands. Ahmet Beyler continues to unite with their followers with their unique sound and energetic, fun and interactive live performances.

Ireland

Dublin
Museum of Literature Ireland

Matthew Nolan

Matthew Nolan is a Dublin based musician, music curator, and academic. He was the founder and artistic director of 3epkano from 2004 to 2015, an instrumental music ensemble who specialised in the production of original music for movies from the silent era. Over the last 10 years, he has been involved in producing new music for several award winning Irish films including Exile in Hell, Runners, and Somewhere Down the Line. He teaches Film Studies at Dublin Business School and Trinity College Dublin.

Greece

Patras
Greek Orthodox Church

Pandelis Zafiris

Pandelis Zafiris studied Music Composition and Musicology at the Department of Music Studies of the Ionian University (Corfu-Greece). He continued his studies in Istanbul where he obtained a Master’s degree in Ethnomusicology at the Department of Advanced Music Studies (MIAM) at the Istanbul Technical University. He recently obtained an additional Master’s degree in the field of Liturgy of Orthodox Theology after successfully completing the program at the Hellenic Open University. He is currently working on his PhD thesis at the Department of Music Studies of the Ionian University in the field of Ethnomusicology. He has participated with papers in conferences and scientific journals and as a performer in concerts in Greece, Turkey, Finland, Italy, Italy, Czech Republic, France, Switzerland and Germany.

Kenya

Nairobi
Sarakasi Dome

Shari Afrika

​​Shari Afrika is a Kenyan folk-pop powerhouse who has performed on some of Kenya’s biggest stages.

South Africa

Potchefstroom
NWU University

Thandeka Mfinyongo

Thandeka Mfinyongo is a musician born and raised in Nyanga East, Cape Town (South Africa). Mfinyongo’s love and passion for performing arts started at a very young age at church. In 2017, she graduated with a Performer’s Diploma in Music; in 2018, she graduated with an Advanced Diploma in African Music from the University of Cape Town. Mfinyongo specializes in two Xhosa instruments, uhadi (gourd/calabash bow) and umrhubhe (mouth-bow). In 2020, she graduated with her Master’s in Music Performance at SOAS University of London, majoring in kora (an instrument from West Africa). Mfinyongo is doing her PhD in Ethnomusicology at Rhodes University. She is currently a lecturer in African music at North-West University’s music department.

Nigeria

Lagos
Mobolaji Johnson Arena (Onikan Stadium)

Johnny Drille, The Recurrance, Ikorodu Pleiadians, D’Elite Men, and Rotimikeys

The annual Make Music Lagos “Shutdown” concert will join Pulsations, and feature a number of award-winning artists from Nigeria: singer-songwriter Johnny Drille, politically-aware rock trio The Reccurance, a 4-man band from Ikorodu called Ikorodu Pleiadians, the Afropop/fusion band D’Elite Men, and the producer Rotimikeys, a star in his own right who has served as Music Director for LadySmith Black Mambazo, Salif Keita, and Yemi Alade.

Third Hour – 17:00 in Paris

09:00 in Mexico | 11:00 in New York | 16:00 in Nigeria | 20:30 in India | 00:00 in Japan

Ghana

Accra
Alliance Française

Westcoast Ebusua

Westcoast Ebusua is a contemporary Ghanaian musical group, playing Hi-life, Afro jazz/soul, Afro fusion, World fusion & African jazz. The group has achieved considerable success on the Ghanaian music scene & it’s poised for more.

Brazil

São Paulo
Bateras Beat Music School

Bateras 100% Brasil

In 2000, Bateras 100% Brasil, in its first show, brought together 64 drummers. By 2006, the project reached the mark of 156 drummers, maintaining this huge ensemble for many years and becoming the largest meeting of drummers in Latin America. More than 50 presentations have already been held in cities such as Brasilia, São Paulo, Rio Janeiro, Santos, Santo André, Aracaju, Fortaleza, Palmas, Manaus and Boas Vista. In 2019 at Parque Cândido Portinari in São Paulo, Bateras 100% Brasil broke the World Record in the “Crecendo” Category with the participation of 104 drummers (70% of whom were women).

Mexico

La Saladita
Playa La Saladita

Todd Clouser and Nereidas

Todd Clouser will be joined by Guerrero, Mexico-based artists Nereidas (guitar/effects) and Nebraska (keys/voice) for a psychedelic improvised set from a small surf village on Mexico’s Pacific Coast.

United States

Los Angeles
Vision Theater in South LA

Dwight Trible and the Fernando Pullum Youth Arts Center Jazz Ensemble

The Fernando Pullum Community Arts Center in South Los Angeles provides quality performing arts instruction to underserved youth. Fernando Pullum, the center’s founder, has been recognized by many organizations and individuals for his contributions to music education, and his students have performed with renowned musicians and have won Grammys. Prolific jazz vocalist, Dwight Trible, will join the band in Leimert Park, the hub of African-American art and culture in Los Angeles since the late 1960s

Canada

Toronto
Hugh’s Room Live

Twin Flames

Twin Flames are a husband-and-wife who deliver a powerful sound that is both contemplative Folk and unapologetic Rock ‘n’ Roll. Their songs have earned them a unique place among contemporary music-makers and songwriters, which has, in turn, led to them touring all over the world. Together, they create sonic soundscapes using Indigenous spirit flutes, traditional drums, and Western instruments. They share a genuine love for songwriting, which stands out lyrically and melodically for the world to hear.

United Kingdom

Belfast
UNESCO City of Music

Beyond Skin Fusionarium

Beyond Skin is an organisation, now in its 20th year, delivering creative projects in Northern Ireland and with global neighbors to build community relations and celebrate diversity. Pulsating on Make Music Day UK in Belfast UNESCO City of Music, we are joining with host venue friends Show Some Love for a music collaboration with Fusionarium. Conducted by sonic welder Luigi Cirillo, Fusionarium works like a marvelous automata machine putting together electronic, folk & every music style in between. Joining Luigi will be a diversity of musicians with special guest musician Smack Jay visiting from Zambia.

Fourth Hour – 18:00 in Paris

10:00 in Mexico | 12:00 in New York | 17:00 in Nigeria | 21:30 in India | 01:00 in Japan

Italy

Milan
CPM Music Institute

Centro Professione Musica Band

This band from Milan’s well-regarded Centro Professione Musica consists of Antono Marchetti (bass), Giovanni Dituri (guitar), Nicola Stefanelli (guitar), and Edoardo Sangiorgio (drums).

Czech Republic

České Budějovice
ČEZ Areál Vltava

Sambějce

Sambějce is a band from the Czech Republic that aims to bring samba and pagode to Central Europe. Very popular Brazilian songs, as well as other hits from around the world, are played with the joyful rhythm of samba and pagode. We are pleased to invite everyone to join our concert and enjoy our rhythms. 

Cyprus

Nicosia
Faneromeni Square

George Vrakas

George Vrakas is a versatile musician known for his dynamic performances on acoustic guitar. Blending upbeat pop, rock, and alternative styles, George creates an engaging and energetic atmosphere. Using effects pedals and a loop pedal, he crafts rich, layered sounds that captivate his audience. His repertoire includes a compelling mix of original compositions and well-loved covers, showcasing his musical range and creativity.

Portugal / Afghanistan

Braga
Gulbenkian Conservatory

Afghanistan National Institute of Music, with Portuguese students from Braga Calouste Gulbenkian Conservatory of Music

In 2010, ANIM reintroduced music into Afghan society, after its ban for many years by the Taliban. ANIM used the soft power of music in rebuilding a nation transforming lives, communities, and facilitating in the ethnic and intercultural dialogue within Afghanistan and internationally.

ANIM and its students have been based in Portugal since the Taliban’s return to power in 2021, which made performing and even listening to music in Afghanistan a crime once again. The orchestra and school aim not only to preserve and promote Afghanistan’s rich musical heritage, but also to champion the musical and educational rights of the Afghan people, especially those denied such rights by the Taliban’s brutal crackdown on women.

For Pulsations, ANIM will perform 3 pieces in collaboration with Portuguese students from the Braga Calouste Gulbenkian Conservatory of Music where many of their students currently study. (1) Amir Jan Saburi: Sarzamine Man, arr. M. Qambar and Tiago Moreira da Silva. (2) Sediq Shebab: Pa Bismillah Qadam Rawakhla, arr. Tiago Moreira da Silva. (3) M. Theodorakis & M. Farandouri adapted by Us. Madadi: Watan Eshq Tu Eftekharam, arr. Tiago Moreira da Silva

Germany

Hannover
UNESCO City of Music Stage

Makatumbe and Friends

Makatumbe puts international folk, dance and pop music into the blender and presses the dance button. The result is something you have never heard before – promise!Makatumbe’s music includes vocal acrobatics and clarinet spread out with beatbox, Ragga, voice imitation and overtone singing on a melodic accordion sound wave that rolls on a massive groove framework of bass and drums. Synth and guitar also thicken the sound. The melodies fly, the bass hits and the music, the audience, and the band becomes one. That’s Makatumbe.

France

Paris
Institut du Monde Arabe

Ibrahim Maalouf & The Trumpets of Michel-Ange

In 16 albums, Ibrahim Maalouf has gone from being the winner of the world’s greatest international classical trumpet competitions to the most popular jazz artist on the French music scene. Filling the Volkswagen Arena in Istanbul, Jazz at Lincoln Center, and the Kennedy Center in 2016 he became the first jazz musician in history to sell out France’s largest concert hall, the Accor Arena in Paris Bercy. Ibrahim has collaborated in recent years with Wynton Marsalis, Angelique Kidjo, the Kronos Quartet, Josh Groban, Marcus Miller, Jon Batiste, and many others. After participating alongside Sting in the reopening of the Bataclan in Paris, Maalouf has become an essential artist and a symbol of intercultural dialogue to the point of being chosen to interpret the national anthem in front of 6 million viewers on July 14, 2021 at the foot of the Eiffel Tower in Paris.